Award winners

For the fourth time, an outstanding economist will be awarded with the Oskar-Morgenstern-Medal in 2019.

Previous prize winners are Ernst Fehr (2017), Robert F. Engle (2015) and Roger B. Myerson (2013). 

Award winner 2017

Ernst Fehr (* June 21, 1956)

Ernst Fehr graduated from the Faculty of Business, Economics and Statistics of the University of Vienna and is a professor for microeconomics, experimental economic research at the University of Zurich since 1994. His research covers the areas of the evolution of human cooperation and sociality, in particular fairness, reciprocity and bounded rationality.

He was primarily honored for his outstanding research achievements in behavioral economics and neuroeconomics.

Photo Gallery

Honorific Speech

Award winner 2015

Robert F. Engle (* November 10, 1942)

Robert Engle is the Michael Armellino Professor of Management and Financial Services and Director of the Volatility Institute at the New York University Stern School of Business.
Together with Clive W.J. Granger, Robert Engle was the winner of the 2003 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for methods analyzing economic time series with time-varying volatility.

Photo gallery

Award winner 2013

Roger B. Myerson (* March 29, 1951)

Roger Bruce Myerson is a professor at the University of Chicago and was awarded the 2007 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences together with the economic scientist Leonid Hurwicz and mathematician Eric Maskin. They were honored for their theories in mechanism design theories, which plays a central role in many areas of economics today.
Myerson has made path-breaking contributions in his field, game theory, which are used in economics and political science. He elaborated mechanism design and volume equivalency principles and applied these to the areas of regulation and auction theory.
The Harvard University graduate taught at Northwestern University for 25 years and then became a professor at University of Chicago. Up until 2014, Roger B. Myerson was President of the Game Theory Society.

Photo gallery