Logo der Universität Wien

Roger B. Myerson (born March 29, 1951)

Roger Bruce Myerson is a professor at the University of Chicago and was awarded the 2007 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences together with the economic scientist Leonid Hurwicz and mathematician Eric Maskin. They were honored for their theories in mechanism design theories, which plays a central role in many areas of economics today.

Myerson has made path-breaking contributions in his field, game theory, which are used in economics and political science. He elaborated mechanism design and volume equivalency principles and applied these to the areas of regulation and auction theory.

The Harvard University graduate taught at Northwestern University for 25 years and then became a professor at University of Chicago. Up until 2014, Roger B. Myerson was President of the Game Theory Society.

University of Vienna

Dr.-Karl-Lueger-Ring 1
1010 Vienna
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0